Totinette’s New Mommy Tip #1: Leaving the House

I’m new at this whole mommy thing, so I thought I’d share all sorts of stuff that I’m learning with you! My first tip for all the new mommies and mommies-to-be out there is about leaving the house for the first couple times. Matilda and I had our very first solo outing 2 weeks after we came home from the hospital. (Yes, it took me 2 weeks to actually leave the house, and boy, did it feel good! I totally drove slower than a granny, though!) We went to BiMart for some supplies, to the video store for candy and some 30 Rock, and then to the library to drop off a book. In the BiMart parking lot, some a**hole honked at me to move out of the empty parking space I was standing in while fixing Matilda’s hat. It was cold and windy and I was not about to let my new baby’s head get cold on our first outing. I was so angry at the insensitivity that I didn’t dare lift my eyes. I knew the look on my face said, “I would kill you with this glare if I could.” Rude people aside, we had a wonderful first adventure and just running a couple of errands really helped me build my confidence.

So here are my tips for you:
* Keep it short, sweet, and close to home (you’ll be much happier about it if it goes smoothly, and not too far from home in case it doesn’t)
* Make sure your baby has a full tummy and a clean diaper before leaving. This should buy you at least an hour of happy or sleeping baby.
* Pack your diaper bag like a girl scout. You probably won’t need an entire change of clothes for the baby, an extra blanket, 2 burp cloths, or 5 diapers, but it will help you feel more relaxed about leaving if you know all your bases are covered.
* Each small outing you go on will help build your confidence for longer outings!
* Have fun!!

Leave a Reply

